Golden Globes Best Picture Nominee: Precious

by Nicholas Robinson

Claireece Precious Jones (Gabourey ‘Gabby’ Sidibe) endures unimaginable hardships in her young life. Abused by her mother (Mo’Nique), raped by her father (Rodney ‘Bear’ Jackson), she grows up poor, angry, illiterate, fat, unloved and generally unnoticed. So what better way to learn about her than through her own, halting dialect. – IMDB.com


Before I start talking about this movie I would like to say that it was, personally, not my cup of tea. When I saw the trailer, I said that I was going to not watch it because I saw Tyler Perry’s name attached (btw, I hate Tyler Perry movies for anyone who didn’t know), but this nomination made me give it a second look because it might have actually been good. So, I watched it with an open mind and I have to say it was a really good movie.  The story was very well written and the acting was just outstanding.

I did not read the novel that this movie was based on, “Push”, but if this movie is anywhere near as good as the novel then the novel must be fantastic.  What I think I liked most about this story is not the dialogue, not the plot but the realism of it.  When I was watching this movie, all I could think was “Wow. This could actually have happened to someone.” and that made me like the story even more.  I loved the dialogue between precious and Ms. Rain (Paula Patton) throughout the movie and the conversation between Precious, her mother and the social worker, Mrs. Weiss (Mariah Carey) and the constant (not sure what to call it so don’t kill me for this) banter between the members of Ms. Rain’s class.  It just made me feel all fuzzy inside, almost cry (don’t worry, any more and I probably would have) and laugh respectively.  It was all placed well throughout the movie.

I was very surprised with the acting in this movie.  In most of the stuff that I have seen Mo’Nique in, she was very bad and the movie was too.  However, she gave a stellar performance in this movie and showed you the two sides of her character quite well.  The lazy, abusive mother was shown very obviously.  However, near the end of the movie, when she gives her reasons for doing what she did, she shows you the caring mother that she was meant to be but never became due to circumstances that were yet were not beyond her control and she did it brilliantly.

Gabourey also did very well in portraying Precious.  She showed us her tough side, caring side, hurt side and loving side with what seemed to be ease.  The way she slipped in and out of those personalities throughout the movie reminded me of the way Echo slips between her personalities in Dollhouse, effortlessly.  I really liked Precious’ dream sequences throughout the movie.  They showed us that Precious was not happy with where she was in life and showed that she had ambition to better herself which made her even more real.

However, I had a couple problems with the movie.  One of them, and this one is quite big, is that it moved quite slowly and that basically ruins a movie for me.  I found myself checking how much time was left many times throughout the movie and just wanting it to finish.  Another problem is that I do not need to see Precious’ father raping her.  If I just see him going in there taking his pants off and the door close while the mother watches from a distance, that is enough.  I just found that scene very unnecessary.

Overall, Precious is a good film, but is not a repeat-watch.

IMDB says 7.6/10

Rotten Tomatoes says 91%

I say 8.0/10

~ by sputnikreviews on December 20, 2009.

One Response to “Golden Globes Best Picture Nominee: Precious”

  1. Overall i like this review and the book was just as good
    Maybe the scene with her father raping her was aimed at touching something or bringing forward disgust in the viewer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
