85% Pure Extract of Awesome

by Nicholas Robinson

Joel (Jason Bateman), the owner of an extract manufacturing plant, constantly finds himself in precarious situations that steadily worsen by the minute. First, his soon-to-be floor manager, Step (Clifton Collins Jr.), acquires a serious injury in a machine malfunctioning accident that subsequently endangers the wellbeing of his company. Second, his personal life doesn’t fair much better when he takes the advice of his bartending friend Dean (Ben Affleck) during a drug-induced brainstorming session on how to test his wife, Suzie (Kristen Wiig),’s faithfulness. Finally, compounding these catastrophes is new employee Cindy (Mila Kunis), who happens to be a scam artist intent on milking the company for all its worth. Now, Joel must attempt to piece his company and his marriage back together all while trying to figure out what he’s really after in life. – IMDB.com


The entire selling point for most people about this movie was that it was written and directed by Mike Judge, the same guy who did Office Space.  However, I have never seen Office Space, and so all I had to go on was the trailer and that was hilarious.  There was Jason Bateman, who I think is pretty hilarious (especially in Arrested Development), David Koechner, who I really don’t think is that funny, J.K. Simmons, who is hilarious, Mila Kunis, who I hadn’t seen in anything before except Max Payne which was horrible, Ben Affleck, who (to be honest) has had more bad performances than good, and other people who I did not recognize, so I was geared up for this movie.

Then I sat down and watched this movie last night and it was hilarious.  The jokes were nice and subtle, the acting was really good and the story was quite well written.  After watching this, the first thought in my mind was “Wow! I need to go watch Office Space.” which believe me is a good thought to have after a movie.

What I really loved about this movie was even though the jokes were quite subtle, the movie didn’t have to explain them for you so you could laugh.  Also, the movie didn’t have to make obvious jokes to make you laugh either.  However, what I really laughed at throughout the movie was that Jason Bateman and Kristen Wiig felt the same way about David Koechner’s character that I normally feel about him which is “Please, shut up!! You’re not funny!  You’re annoying me to death! JUST SHUT UP!!!”

The acting was all around really good.  However, who I have to give kudos to is Clifton Collins Jr. who went out of his serious element to play a Texan who suffers a serious injury.  He played the character of Step very well.  He’s a guy who believes “What’s right is right” and wouldn’t do anything wrong unless manipulated by another person (which personally I think is referencing to the Bible but hey, I could be wrong).  Mila Kunis also did a good job as the con artist girl who decides to steal anything not bolted down.  When I was watching the opening credits and I saw Gene Simmons‘ name come up I thought “Oh dear God! I’m gonna have to sit through a cameo of that exercise guy!” but them the lawyer scene came and I laughed my ass off because it was the lead singer from KISS and I was content.

The story was pretty hilarious.  This guy runs his own company and right as he’s about to sell it and make a tonne of money, shit starts to happen that fucks up the deal and it made me laugh hysterically. I mean I had to pause the movie at some points because I was laughing so much and I love it when a film does that to me.

Overall this is a funny film that deserves to be bought and watched over and over but no one would say anything to you if you rented it and didn’t like it unless you’re someone Kevin Carr (@kevincarr on twitter) from FSR who doesn’t like (500) Days of Summer (No Kevin you will never live that comment down).

IMDB says 6.6/10

Rotten Tomatoes says 63%

I say 8.5/10

~ by sputnikreviews on January 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
