Does Holmes’ awesomeness know no bounds?

by Nicholas Robinson

After finally catching serial killer and occult “sorcerer” Lord Blackwood (Mark Strong), legendary sleuth Sherlock Holmes (Robert Downey Jr.) and his assistant Dr. Watson (Jude Law) can close yet another successful case. But when Blackwood mysteriously returns from the grave and resumes his killing spree, Holmes must take up the hunt once again. Contending with his partner’s new fiancée (Kelly Reilly) and the dimwitted head of Scotland Yard (Eddie Marsan), the dauntless detective must unravel the clues that will lead him into a twisted web of murder, deceit, and black magic – and the deadly embrace of temptress Irene Adler (Rachel McAdams). –IMDB.com


I was extremely pumped up to see this movie as it combined quite a few awesome things. These are Guy Ritchie, Robert Downey Jr, Mark Strong and Sherlock Holmes.  I have always been an avid reader and when I was young I used to read the Sherlock Holmes books published by Enid (I think it was, not 100% sure).  Anyways, it lived up to my expectations and a bit more.  The story was very well written, the acting was superb, the score was amazing and the comedy was well placed.

As I said, the story was very well written.  It flowed very well and never questioned or contradicted itself.  I loved that the ending corresponds with one of Sherlock’s mantras “Perhaps, when a man has special knowledge and special powers like my own, it rather encourages him to seek a complex explanation when a simpler one is at hand.” I also loved the bits where Holmes thinks out what to do in a fight and then does it.  It shows you that his logic is so sound, he knows exactly what to do in order to defeat his opponent.  The only thing that annoyed me was that I had not finished the viral game yet and I realized that it was solved for me at the beginning of the movie.

The acting in this movie was perfect.  Robert Downey gave his own spin on Sherlock which I found to be quite genius.  Sherlock was always brilliant, but I always pictured him as a upper-class Englishman wearing a tweed coat and hat, pipe in his mouth, solving crimes for a hobby.  What Downey did was equivalent to what Heath Ledger did with the Joker.  He took the basics of the genius personality with an ego and added a touch of crazy mad scientist in there as shown with him killing the dog again in the trailer.  Jude Law was also very good as Watson.  I remember Watson being a bit on the average side of deductive reasoning, but in this new movie he was almost on par with Holmes and I think he portrayed that excellently.

Mark Strong was also very good, but I was kinda sad that he didn’t get a lot of screen time.  He’s been in quite a few awesome movies lately and I would have loved to see more of him.  Rachel McAdams disappointed me because I know she can act and she did barely more than be eye candy in this movie and she really disappointed me with that.

The score was very well done, but that is expected from Hans Zimmer, the man who scored The Dark Knight.  I have nothing more to say about that as that’s all you need to know about the score.  Buy it on Amazon.  Support the merchandising so we can get a sequel!  The comedy was very, very well placed.  It did not interrupt the story at all.  It felt like instead of the movie taking a break to be funny, the funny was a part of the movie.  When someone does that, it is a mark of a good maybe great writer.

Overall, this is a must watch for anyone who likes Iron Man, any Guy Ritchie film or the Sherlock Holmes stories.  Therefore, it’s a must watch for everyone.

IMDB says 7.7/10

Rotten Tomatoes says 69%

I say 9.0/10

~ by sputnikreviews on January 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
