This Week in Bluray

by Nicholas Robinson

Buy It

50 Dead Men Walking

I saw the trailer and was blown away.  Then I saw the movie and it was slightly worse than expected, but still pretty awesome.  Jim Sturgess and Ben Kingsley gave great performances and the story was just amazing.

DVD: Yes

The Green Berets

I have never heard about this movie in my life.  However, it has John Wayne on the cover.  Therefore all you John Wayne fans who want to hear him say son of a bitch.  This is up your alley.

DVD: No

Rent It

10 Things I Hate About You

The last time I saw this movie, I was in first form and though it was pretty good for a rom com.  However, I am sure if I watch it now that would not be so.  I’d probably think that it’s bad.  But until that time comes, I will recommend this movie for a romantic movie night with you girlfriend/boyfriend.

DVD: Yes

Battlestar Gallactica Season 1

I have never seen this show, but I have heard good things about it and so will one day pick this up at my local rental store and give it a shot.  I think you should too.

DVD: No

Chuck Season 2

Once again, I have never watched this show.  The premise sounds hilarious and I have heard wonderful things about it from my brother.  But, once again, if you love it, buy it or rent it.  Your choice.

DVD: Yes

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs

I just watched this movie and thought it was pretty funny.  There were some points that annoyed the hell out of me, but overall it was very funny.  That is why it has been demoted to a rent.

DVD: Yes

Jarhead

I have never watched this movie.  In fact, you’re going to see this a lot.  If I haven’t seen a movie, but think it looks good, I’ll put it here.  I thought the trailer was awesome.  People say awesome things about it.  So check it out.

DVD: Yes

Street Fighter

You are all going to crucify me for this, but recently I rewatched this movie and thought that it was way better than the new Chun Li movie.  JCVD was not my first choice for Guile but hey, I don’t make movies, I just review ‘em.  If you’re like most people you will not check this out, but trust me if you watch it right after Chun Li, you’ll appreciate it that much more.

DVD: Yes

The Rundown

I watched this five years ago when it came out, and I thought this movie is pretty good.  However, if I watch it now that may not be so.  But until then, check it out. You might like it.

DVD: Yes

Don’t Touch With A 10ft Pole

8 Mile

When I first saw the trailer for this I really wanted to watch it.  However, when it came out and my brothers saw it, they said it was utter trash and from what I’ve seen, I agree.

DVD: Yes

Cheaper by the Dozen 2

The first movie was watchable and all they did for this movie was add another family and when I watched it I felt like my brain cells were dying from exposure to a shitty movie.

DVD: Yes

Dawn of the Dead

Another George Romero movie that did not need to be remade.  The only good factor in the\is was Ving Rhames and even then he stretches that nowadays.  However, if you want your girlfriend to curl up in fear, the sure, rent it for the night.

DVD: Yes

Doom

I loved the game.  I hated the movie.  The Rock is good but not that good.  This movie is another reason why video games should not be made into movies along with Lara Croft.  However, I loved that the B.F.G was in it.

DVD: Yes

The Final Destination

I have not seen any of this series of movies.  I don’t plan to.  However, I may do it just for shits and giggles but the average Joe (unless your Jamaican) should not touch this movie if it dressed up as Selma Hayek and tried to seduce you.

DVD: Yes

Stuff I Haven’t Heard About

  • Riding Giants
  • Last Starfighter
  • Dogtown and Z-boys
  • End of Days
  • The Ministers
  • Wicked Lake
  • Trailer Park Boys
~ by sputnikreviews on January 5, 2010.

5 Responses to “This Week in Bluray”

  1. so here’s a question…. if you’ve never heard of The Green Berets why didn’t you put it in your “Stuff I’ve Never Heard About” section??? as opposed to the BUY section

  2. I might check this one out.

  3. I know this is off the topic but I found this site by searching on Yahoo for television guide. How did you optimize your blog to place so high in the search engine results?^_^

Leave a Reply

 
