Freddy Krueger: A History

by Nicholas Robinson


Well, as all the top tens on Freddy Krueger and the reboot of A Nightmare on Elm Street I could think of were already being done or were already done, I decided to take a look back at all of the A Nightmare on Elm Street movies and rank them.  I have always loved Freddy and his crazy fun kills so here is a rundown of how I feel the series should be ranked.

8. A Nightmare on Elm Street Part 2 – Freddy’s Revenge [1985]


This movie, I think is the worst sequel ever made in the history of sequels.  A year after the release of the widely popular A Nightmare on Elm Street, New Line Cinema released this movie which I think should be forgotten and thought to have never existed (yes, I know, that’s how they beat Freddy in the first one).  This movie removed the entire premise for the character.  Firstly, the kills were extremely boring and slasher-like and also, he was acting out in the real world instead of the dream world.  It felt like I was watching a movie were a random dude goes around and slashes people up instead of the amazingly creative Freddy who does all sorts of weird shit to you when you sleep.

7. A Nightmare on Elm Street Part 5 – The Dream Child [1989]


There are two reasons why this movie is not the worst movie in the series.  The obvious one is that Part 2 was worse.  The other is that the kills were semi-creative.  In terms of story and other things, this movie is just as bad as Part 2.  How they defeat him is ridiculous.  How they bring him back is ridiculous.  This movie is just plain ridiculous, and not in a good way.

6. A Nightmare on Elm Street Part 4 – The Dream Master [1988]


This movie was an unnecessary sequel to Part 3 and was the reason Part 5 was made.  Whenever I look back to when I watched all these movies, and I almost cry because I realize that this movie was the reason why people hate on this franchise.  Every time I hear someone say that they hate Freddy Krueger, it’s because they saw this movie and said never again.  It breaks my heart to see a classic horror icon go unloved because of a bad sequel.

5. Freddy Vs. Jason [2003]


When I heard that Freddy was making a comeback, I was psyched.  I had seen the first Nightmare and I was so excited to see it.  However, it was slightly disappointing in the middle with too many Jason kills, but the beginning and closer to the end when there was more Freddy, the movie was awesome.  How he was brought back was pure genius and the final battle between Freddy and Jason and the banter was awesome.   ”Welcome to my world bitch!”

Click Here to See the Top Four Freddy Krueger movies

Pages: 1 2

~ by sputnikreviews on May 1, 2010.

One Response to “Freddy Krueger: A History”

  1. Hi!

    I am Malcolm from The Final Oscar and I am cordially inviting you to a smackdown. It’s the SMACKDOWN: 1995 BEST PICTURE. The nominees for that year are:

    Apollo 13
    Babe
    Braveheart
    Il Postino
    Sense and Sensibility

    If you confirm or reject your participation in this smackdown, please reply to this mail. Don’t worry! Two weeks will be allotted for watching/rewatching the movies nominated. If you have any inquiries, just mail me at mylastoscar@gmail.com

    Submission of Analysis: May 20, 2010
    Posting of Results: May 23, 2010

    For more details, you can just visit my site: mylastoscar.wordpress.com

    Thanks for the time and I hope you’ll join!

    Malcolm

Leave a Reply

 
