Movies I Haven’t Seen Yet – The Rocky Horror Picture Show [1975]

by Nicholas Robinson

While driving home during a rain filled night, straight-laced lovebirds Brad (Barry Bostwick) and Janet (Susan Sarandon), by chance, end up at the castle of one Dr. Frank-N-Furter (Tim Curry) and his strange and bizarre entourage, and find that he’s having a party. This is no ordinary party, no ordinary night. This is the unveiling of the Dr’s latest creation: Rocky (Peter Hinwood); A man-made Adonis that will give…absolute pleasure. This is an exceedingly grand visual and musical camp satire of the golden days of the B-movie horror and science-fiction genres. Projected along with a musical soundtrack to give “audience participation” a new meaning in dimension, time and space, this shall be a night that both Brad and Janet will remember for a very, very long time in the sexually kinky, rock ‘n roll (f)rock-opera world of a gender-bending scientist…and his time warped plans. – IMDB.com


Now, to ring in Halloween as we don’t really celebrate it here in Jamaica, I watched this hilariously fun movie.  After watching Tuesday’s episode of Glee, I was psyched to watch this movie as I loved the episode and I was told that it didn’t even hold a candle to the movie.  I was not disappointed.  The movie was funny, it had some good acting, great music and a very unique and strange story.

Now when I tell you this movie was funny.  Whether it was Tim Curry being Dr. Frank-N-Furter, or Brad yelling out “Great Scott!” at Dr. Scott’s (Jonathan Adams) entrance, or everyone yelling everyone else’s name or everyone doing the Time Warp, I was never not smiling while watching this movie.  To be honest, I was not only laughing at what was supposed to be funny, but I was also laughing at the serious B-nature of the movie, including the first scene where they placed Tim Curry, Richard O’ Brian, Patricia Quinn and Nell Campbell as additional characters.

The acting in this movie was good overall, but there was one performance that really stood out for me and that was, obviously, Tim Curry as the “Sweet Transvestite from Transsexual Transylvania” Dr. Frank-N-Furter.  If it weren’t for the fact that: a) I knew it was Tim Curry and b) he took off the cape, I could actually think that he was a girl.  The way he walks and dances during his numbers is extremely convincing.  He portrays the mad, alien doctor extremely well and if I ever run into him on the street, I would not be able to finish that conversation without congratulating him for one of the best performances I have ever seen.

The music in this movie was fantastic.  It is a proper musical with over 15 songs of which I can’t find one which I would go out of my way to not listen to.  Every song was integral to the story and was sung with conviction by all the participants.  In fact after only one viewing, I find myself either humming or singing the songs and hell, today I actually did the Time Warp.  As I’ve said before, any movie that can do that is one good movie.

The story in this movie is very strange.  So strange in fact, that I can’t compare it to any other movie even when broken down to general plot points.  Now, I’m not saying that strange is good, but in this case it is.  However, there were times when it got way too ridiculous, especially the end.  I kinda didn’t like that Meat Loaf (Eddie) only got one scene though because I would have loved to see his character develop a bit more.

Overall, this is a really fun movie that everyone should watch at least once, if just to learn how to do the Time Warp.

IMDB says 7.1/10

RT says 76%

I say 9.0/10

~ by sputnikreviews on November 1, 2010.

2 Responses to “Movies I Haven’t Seen Yet – The Rocky Horror Picture Show [1975]”

  1. yup i need to see this, btw you need to watch ‘The Warriors’ circa 1980s

Leave a Reply

 
