These Kids Are Definitely All Right

by Nicholas Robinson

In LA, Nic (Annette Bening) and Jules (Julianne Moore) are a couple with a daughter, Joni (Mia Wasikowska), on her way to college and a son, Laser (Josh Hutcherson), at 15 a good athlete but maybe hanging out with the wrong pal. Laser wants Joni, who’s now 18, to find out who their biological father is – a sperm donor. Without initially telling their moms, they meet him. He’s Paul (Mark Ruffalo), a cool guy with a motorcycle, a restaurant, and an organic garden. Although Nic doesn’t like the idea, the five of them get together a few times and the kids spend time with Paul. He hires Jules, who’s had many brief vocations, to landscape his back yard, and Nic, who’s an OB/GYN, decides to be a good sport and get to know Paul better. Can a family add a new member? – IMDB.com

Getting closer and closer to the new year and my 2010-a-thon is still going strong.  Only 5 more days until 2011 and I am definitely not going to watch all the movies I want to for my Top ten, so…I am giving myself an extra week to finish up.  Now, don’t be disappointed, I’ll still post my reviews as I go along and my Top Ten within the 1st week of January.  But let’s stay with the present.  Before a couple of weeks ago, I had never heard of this movie.  Then my brothers watched it and said that it was awesome and I just HAD to watch it.  So I did and It was good.  The story was pretty generic but unique at the same time, the acting was really good, the dialogue was well written and the jokes were ok.

The story for this movie was pretty generic in the sense that it’s like a lot of other family dramas and comedies in the sense that there is a tight-knit family and there is some disturbance which causes lots and lots of tension in the household.  The thing that made this story unique was the fact that the married couple weren’t the traditional couple, but a lesbian couple and not only were they a lesbian couple, but they weren’t objectified as hot college girls with big breasts who do nothing but fuck, but actual, real-life persons and that was a great point for me.

Now the acting was superb.  Annette Bening and Julianne Moore were wonderful as the lesbian couple going through hard times, especially as they were acting as people who were at opposite ends of the spectrum yet still loved each other. Mark Ruffalo was great as Paul, the “I-Don’t-Give-A-Shit” organic guy who is trying to get to know his children.  However, there is also bad acting in this movie.  Josh Hutcherson was pretty bad in this movie.  I mean, I’m not sure if there was supposed to be something more from this character, but all I got from him was “whatever” and it was a black mark on this good movie.

The dialogue was well written in this movie.  I mean what’s not to love when a lesbian says “I need your observations like I need a dick up my ass.”  Every line meant something in this movie and I loved it.  The jokes on the other hand were only OK.  They were scattered scantily throughout the movie and even then they were only OK.

Overall this is a good movie that I think should at least deserve a rent from everyone old enough to watch it (It is rated R folks).

IMDB says 7.4/10

RT says 94%

I say 8.0/10

~ by sputnikreviews on December 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
