Golden Globes Best Animated Feature Nominee – Despicable Me

by Nicholas Robinson


In a happy suburban neighbourhood surrounded by white picket fences with flowering rose bushes, sits a black house with a dead lawn. Unbeknownst to the neighbours, hidden beneath this home is a vast secret hideout. Surrounded by a small army of minions, we discover Gru (Steve Carrell), planning the biggest heist in the history of the world. He is going to steal the moon. (Yes, the moon!) Gru delights in all things wicked. Armed with his arsenal of shrink rays, freeze rays, and battle-ready vehicles for land and air, he vanquishes all who stand in his way. Until the day he encounters the immense will of three little orphaned girls who look at him and see something that no one else has ever seen: a potential Dad. The world’s greatest villain has just met his greatest challenge: three little girls named Margo (Miranda Cosgrove), Edith (Dana Galer) and Agnes (Elsie Fisher). – IMDB.com

Recently, children’s movies have been an excruciating pain to sit through but not this one.  When I saw it nominated for Best Animated Feature I said, “Hold on a minute???? The HFPA think that this can contend with the likes of Pixar?????”  So, I watched it and I was pleasantly surprised.  The story in this movie is interesting (a refresher from my previous reviews),  the jokes were actually funny for a change, the voices were good and the animation was really good.

The story in this movie is very interesting.  For once, unless I strip the story down to its utter (and I mean utter) core, I have a unique movie that just stands out due to wonderful imagination from the writers.  It’s so whimsical and serious all at the same time.  It has all the elements of a movie for adults, without all the cursing and violence and sex but with lots of child-friendly jokes and material which I have to commend the writers for.

For the last couple of days I have watched a few comedies and none of them have had real funny jokes that I could LMAO to.  However, in this movie I was laughing quite hard a lot of the time.  Now don’t get me wrong there were quite a few jokes that I just shook my head to but I’m sure little children would love them.  However, I think that my favourite joke in this movie would have to be the collective jokes involving Gru’s minions.  Those little critters are just so hilarious.

The voices in this movie were REALLY good.  Instead of most animated movies where people write a script and then just get famous people to voice the characters, it felt like the characters were built around the people (even though I’m sure it’s not that).  My 1st impression of the cast was that the Judd Apatow crew got together and someone said “Guys, I think we’ve been doing too many R-rated comedies.  We should do a children’s movie”  and most of them said “You know, you’re right,”  and got together wrote stuff and made this movie.  My favourite voice however, was Jason Segel as Vector because all Vector reminds me of is when Jason Segel goes all crazy and fun on the hit TV-series How I Met Your Mother which I love to death.

I have to say the animation for this movie was good.  With the exception of Gru and Dr. Nefario (Russel Brand) (due to the weird shape) each character felt as if they were drawn based on the actor’s movements and I found.  To be honest, I don’t know what else to say other than it was good because I really don’t know animation, so sue me.  What I do know is movies and that is what I’m talking about right now

Overall this is a fun family film that once you have children in the house you have an excuse to buy it so you don’t feel embarrassed but you know you love it anyway.

IMDB says 7.6/10

RT says 81%

I say 9.0/10

~ by sputnikreviews on December 28, 2010.

2 Responses to “Golden Globes Best Animated Feature Nominee – Despicable Me”

  1. pass it on

  2. cool

Leave a Reply

 
