Ryan Reynolds Buries Hayden Christensen and Jason Statham’s Stunt Double This Week in DVD and Blu-ray

by Nicholas Robinson


Hey guys.  Here is another edition of This Week in DVD and Bluray where I give you my opinion on the releases of the week and what you should and should not buy.  This week came with a ton of new releases and I even already bought one of my To Buy DVDs of this week.  Hope you guys enjoy.

Buy It

Justified: The Complete First Season


I still haven’t seen all of this season but what I have seen is enough to make me want to buy this season on Blu-ray and watch it over and over again on my TV.  It is a great show with a wonderful star, Timothy Olyphant.

Blu-ray? Yes

Buried


Here, I give the same reason that I gave for why it is number two on my Top Ten of 2010 list and that includes a wonderful story propelled along by an amazing performance by Ryan Reynolds (that beats James Franco’s performance in 127 Hours by a mile).  It is a great movie that is on its way to my hands right now.

Blu-ray? Yes

Animal Kingdom


Another of my Top Ten movies has been released this week and it deserves to be bought.  It is one of the best crime dramas I have seen in the past few years and has great performances by Ben Mendelsohn and Jacki Weaver that just lit up the screen along with other great performances by everyone involved.

Blu-ray? Yes

Paper Man


A great coming-of-middle-age comedy that nearly made my Top Ten list for this year had great performances by Jeff Daniels and Ryan Reynolds (again.  Damn this dude is good).  The comedy and acting in this movie is amazing and is one of Jeff Daniel’s best movies of recent years.

Rent It

Stone


I have not seen this movie yet but I plan to do just what I am telling you to, rent it.  Edward Norton and Robert De Niro??? I mean,  where can that go wrong?

Blu-ray? Yes

Ernest Goes to Camp/Ernest Scared Stupid/Ernest Goes to Jail Triple Feature


I loved these movies when I was a child and could not stop laughing at Jim Varney doing all kind of crazy stuff that just wouldn’t stop backfiring and being funny.  So if you are a fan of the Ernest movies, check this out at your local rental store.

Blu-ray? No

Jack Goes Boating


Once again, I haven’t seen this movie but I have been wanting to watch it for a long time.  Phillip Seymour Hoffman looks brilliant in this indie romantic comedy and I will be renting this soon.

Don’t Touch With A 10ft Pole

Takers


This movie just looks horrible.  Hayden “can’t-act-worth-a-shit” Christensen along with Chris Brown, T.I. and a bunch of other bad movie actors.  I won’t be watching this anytime soon.

 

Blu-ray? Yes

Death Race 2


The first movie back in 2008 was a fun little action movie with bad plot and bad acting.  Now they’ve replaced Jason Statham with a look-a-like (probably his stunt double from the 1st one) and put Ving Rhames, Danny Trejo and Sean Bean in it and put it on the DVD shelves.  It might still be fun, but I doubt it’s worth the rent.

 

Blu-ray? Yes

Stuff I Don’t Know

  • Dark Skies: The Declassified Complete Series
  • Merlin: The Complete Second Season
  • Dallas: The Complete Fourteenth Season
  • Roger Corman’s Cult Classic Triple Feature (Attack of the Crab Monsters/ War of the Satellites/ Not of this Earth)
  • Freakonomics
  • Lebanon
~ by sputnikreviews on January 18, 2011.

2 Responses to “Ryan Reynolds Buries Hayden Christensen and Jason Statham’s Stunt Double This Week in DVD and Blu-ray”

  1. Ryan Reynolds Buries Hayden Christensen and Jason Statham's Stunt ……

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

  2. […] Ryan Reynolds (that beats sputnikreviews.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

 
