“TRON: Legacy” Immerses You In The Grid

by Nicholas Robinson


Sam Flynn (Garrett Hedlund), the tech-savvy 27-year-old son of Kevin Flynn (Jeff Bridges), looks into his father’s disappearance and finds himself pulled into the same world of fierce programs and gladiatorial games where his father has been living for 20 years. Along with Kevin’s loyal confidant (Olivia Wilde), father and son embark on a life-and-death journey across a visually-stunning cyber universe that has become far more advanced and exceedingly dangerous.IMDB.com

Even though the original TRON came out in 1982, I only saw it a few years ago and I loved it.  When I heard they were making a sequel, to be honest I was worried.  I thought it was going to be another case of a sequel that is far too late and is probably going to suck.  Then I saw the trailer and I was gladly surprised and excited.  I saw the movie last week and got exactly what I expected: a fun movie with some good aspects.  The story was average and the acting was OK, BUT, the action, visuals and music were all amazing in this movie.

The story in this movie was pretty average.  It was what it needed to be so that the movie could actually take place.  It was very straightforward and got Sam into the world of TRON (which is now called The Grid apparently) and moved along well.  I can’t blame them for making the story how it was but there were some problems.  I have no problem with a character switching sides at the end of a movie, but only if it is done right.  You can’t have a character on one side for the entire story and in a final chase sequence he gets a flash, one line and suddenly is on the other side.  Other than that, however, it did OK.

The acting in this movie was pretty OK.  Jeff Bridges didn’t give as good a performance as in True Grit, but he was fun as, what I call, a hippie Jedi.  Olivia Wilde on the other hand did very well as the naive-ish and kick-ass program who helps Kevin Flynn keep off the grid (ye I know, bad pun).  She showed really good skill in the way she portrayed her character and was just plain good.  Michael Sheen was amazing though as Castor/Zeus.  He just took the character and made him the guy that will always be remembered in this movie.  In ten years when you ask someone what they remember from this movie he will be the 2nd thing they say (after Daft Punk‘s score of course).

The visuals in this movie was really good.  The 3D was quite subtle which I like but could have been done without but the general visuals were amazing.  The only visual that I really had a problem with was Jeff Bridge’s CGI face.  It was OK when it was on C.L.U but when it was his younger self in the real world and on The Grid it didn’t work at all.  The action was also really good in this.  The Disc Wars and the Light Cycle games were great.  Also the fight scenes, especially the one in End of Line was fun (especially when Kevin Flynn jumped in to help).

The best part of this movie (and I really do mean this)  is the score.  Daft Punk did an amazing job and should have been nominated for both the Globes and the Oscars for Best Original Score.  Throughout the entire movie, even when there was bad plot and average acting on screen I could just listen to the score and be happy.  I went straight home and got the score and have listened to it several times since I have watched the movie and won’t stop for a long while.

Overall, it was a fun little movie that I enjoyed watching.

IMDB says 7.3/10

RT says 49%

I say 7.0/10


~ by sputnikreviews on January 27, 2011.

One Response to ““TRON: Legacy” Immerses You In The Grid”

  1. Nice site ….)

Leave a Reply

 
