Tobey Maguire Brings Colour To The Worlds Of Jamie Foxx And Gareth Edwards This Week In DVD And Blu-ray

by Nicholas Robinson



Hey guys,  here is this week’s edition of what came out for home viewing and on time.  There were quite a bit of releases this week with some good, some bad and some I don’t know.  In general, almost every week of DVD and Blu-ray.  Not much else to say other than here are my picks for this week.

Buy It

Monsters


 

Here we have what I semi-liken to District 9 in the sense that it was a movie with aliens but the story was much more focused on the humans crossing the aliens path.  It is a really good love story told in a very good way by Gareth Edwards and deserves to be on a lot of shelves.

Blu-ray? Yes

Pleasantville [Blu-ray]


I watched this movie when I was a child and loved it to death.  Hell, I rewatched it recently and STILL loved it.  It is a great movie with some really good acting and a story that brings colour to your heart and to their lives.  I might buy this soon.

Ray [Blu-ray]


This movie is one of the best biopics I have ever seen with a performance by Jamie Foxx that has not been seen in any other movie.  It is an extremely riveting movie that I already own and might replace with this high definition version.

Rent It

Let Me In


Most of you who have seen the movie might be going “*gasp* How can he put this in the Rent section???”  Well my answer is simple.  I haven’t seen the movie and even though it looks very good, I am not putting it in the Buy section unless I am sure it is that good.  So there.

Blu-ray? Yes

Alice in Wonderland 2 Disc 60th Anniversary Blu-ray/DVD Combo Pack


In all my years, I have never seen this, the original Alice in Wonderland.  I know it is shameful that I haven’t seen this classic tale that has started all the spinoffs and remakes that we see today but after all of those I still think that this would be just a rent for me and nothing really exciting for me to buy.

Conviction


I saw this trailer and thought this looked like a really good movie.  Then it came out and I saw what people were saying about it and I was hesitant and I still am.  Maybe sometime I will sit down and watch this but not for now.

Blu-ray? Yes

Don’t Touch With A 10ft Pole

Beverly Hills Chihuahua 2


To be honest I don’t need to say anything about this.  They say a picture says a thousand words?  Well Chihuahuas shouldn’t say any.

Blu-ray?  Unfortunately

Never Let Me Go


This movie was such a disappointment.  From all of the trailers I was expecting a heart-roller coaster ride in an emotional tale of love and science.  What I got was Keira “surfboard-with-a-face” Knightly fucking Andrew Garfield while Carey Mulligan watched jealously along with extremely boring story that seemingly was just there to facilitate the pseudolove between Keira and Andrew.

Blu-ray? No

Stuff I Don’t Know

  • Hatchet II
  • The Tillman Story
  • All About Eve
  • Garrow’s Law: Series One [DVD Only]
  • The Double Life of Veronique (Criterion Collection)
~ by sputnikreviews on February 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
