“Due Date” Missed It’s Delivery Date By 33 Years

by Nicholas Robinson


Peter Highman (Robert Downey Jr.) must get to LA in five days to be at the birth of his firstborn. He is about to fly home from Atlanta when his luggage and wallet are sent to LA without him, and he is put on the “no-fly” list. Desperate to get home Peter is forced to accept the offer of Ethan Tremblay (Zach Galifianakis) to hitch a ride with him cross-country. Peter is about to go on the most terrifying and agonizing journey of his life.IMDB.com

When this came out in theatres, I didn’t watch it because it was a choice between this and a movie I really wanted to watch (can’t seem to remember now) so this got left by the wayside even though I wanted to watch it not because of the idea (which is completely unoriginal) but because of the people involved.  I love Robert Downey Jr.,  I love Zach Galifianakis, and I love Todd Phillips (the guy who directed The Hangover).  Just those people alone made me want to watch it.  I went in with above average expectations and I got just that, above average.  The story was unoriginal, the acting was really good, the comedy was hilarious and the cameos were really good.

This story was completely unoriginal.  Once I saw the trailer I knew that this was going to be Planes, Trains & Automobiles 2.  It had the exact same story(except that Steve Martin didn’t have a baby delivery to get to), the exact same characters (except John Candy didn’t have a dog and was a salesman instead of an actor) and I was surprisingly OK with it.  I mean a lot of the jokes were different but the overall story was the same which gives it minuses in my book.

The acting was really good.  Robert Downey Jr. played a pretty funny asshole who can’t stand Zach Galifianiakis and all his horrible, horrible habits (which include masturbating before sleeping in the car DIRECTLY BESIDE him).  Zach Galifianakis played a hilarious idiot (semi-reprising his role from The Hangover) but as the movie progressed (like the original) we see the bond forming between those two and we get real depth into Zach’s character which was shown really well by Zach himself.

The comedy in this movie was pretty funny.  A lot of the jokes were quite unexpected (like the aforementioned masturbation) and not because of the unexpectedness were really funny.  What I really liked about some of the jokes was that some actually showed off the personality and flaws of the characters.  For example, Robert Downey Jr. punched a drug dealer’s son in the stomach because he was being annoyed.  That was unexpected, hilarious and showed how much of a douche his character actually was.  However, I think one of my favourite parts involved a bong, federales and a hitched up trailer.  You’ll know what I’m talking about when you get there.

Also, the cameos were great in this movie.  From the trailer you know Jamie Foxx was in it and his part was HILARIOUS.  It wasn’t just the coffee joke either.  Joke after joke after joke Jamie Foxx reminds me why he needs to go back into comedy.  My other favourite cameo was Danny McBride but I won’t tell you about that one.  There are a ton of hilarious cameos in this movie that just makes it fun to watch.

Overall, it’s a fun movie to watch once but if you want a really good comedy go and buy/rent the unofficial original, Planes, Trains & Automobiles.

IMDB says 6.8/10

RT says 39%

I say 7.0/10

~ by sputnikreviews on February 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
