I Wish I Could “Sucker Punch” Zack Snyder In The Face Right Now

by Nicholas Robinson


She has been locked away against her will, but Babydoll (Emily Browning) has not lost her will to survive. Determined to fight for her freedom, she urges four other young girls — the outspoken Rocket (Jena Malone), the street-smart Blondie (Vanessa Hudgens), the fiercely loyal Amber (Jamie Chung) and the reluctant Sweet Pea (Abbie Cornish) — to band together and try to escape their terrible fate at the hands of their captors, Blue (Oscar Isaac), Madam Gorski (Carla Gugino) and the High Roller (Jon Hamm). Led by Babydoll, the girls engage in fantastical warfare against everything from samurais to serpents, with a virtual arsenal at their disposal. Together, they must decide what they are willing to sacrifice in order to stay alive. But with the help of a Wise Man (Scott Glenn), their unbelievable journey — if they succeed — will set them free.IMDB.com

I have taken a long sabbatical from writing reviews as I had not watched a lot of movies.  However, I’ve been sick so over the past couple of weeks I’ve seen quite a few movies.  In fact I saw this one a couple of weeks ago and three others within the last few days.  I have been putting off reviewing this movie for quite a while as I was very depressed after watching it, it kind of got blocked out of my mind as it was that bad but now, unfortunately, it has returned.  It was utter rubbish.  The story was bad, the acting was horrible, the action was almost non-existent BUT the soundtrack was OK.

I saw the trailer for this movie and expected no real story for 2 reasons.  One, it looked like nothing but mindless action with just enough story for it to move along and two, it was Zack Snyder’s first original screenplay and so I was only expecting anything middling at best.  What I got, was Zack Snyder writing something that I do not understand how anyone thought it was good.  I see that Zack Snyder tried to do something with a hallucination within a hallucination (sound familiar right?) but all it seemed like was that Zack Snyder saw Inception and said to himself “I could write something like that” and wrote this piece of shit.  It would have been better if he had either ignored the mental institution or the cathouse and put in more action this might have been decent.

This might not have been their fault, but the acting in this movie was terrible.  I mean, there’s so much any one actor can do with a script this bad.  However, one thing I do have to say is that Oscar Isaac was a pleasant surprise.  At first he seemed pretty average as if he was delivering lines but then it got to a scene near the end of the movie which reminds me of gangster movies and he then makes a speech to Emily Browning after the 3rd item has been acquired that just made me realize that he is a really good actor and is someone to look out for in the future.

For what was marketed as a mindless action movie that could have a story and was one hour and fifty minutes long, there was less than 20 minutes of action and when there was action (even though some of it was kind of good) it was not only very jarring and didn’t flow with the rest of the movie, it was all in the trailer and didn’t excite me like action normally does.  So, an action movie with action that doesn’t deliver… *sigh*.

The soundtrack was OK.  In the movie it sounded pretty awesome going with the action in every way complimenting what was on the screen but after I listened to it by itself  it was really only average and didn’t make me want to listen to it over and over like the TRON: Legacy score or any Clint Mansell score but just made me want to throw it out my window.

Overall, this was a really horrible movie that makes me worried about Zack Snyder’s Superman in 2012.

IMDB says 6.6/10

RT says 21%

I say 1.5/10


~ by sputnikreviews on April 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
