Top Five DreamWorks Animations Films

by Nicholas Robinson

Well, first off, I would like to apologize for not delivering on my promise to resurrect my Spotlight column but due to circumstances beyond my control, I was unable to complete the movie so the column shall restart next Thursday.  Now to the business at hand.  With today’s release of Kung Fu Panda 2, DreamWorks follow-up to a surprisingly good Jack Black animated movie in 2008, I decided to make a list of the top five films from the animations department so without further ado here it is.

5. Kung Fu Panda


I walked into my local theatre almost 3 years ago to watch what I thought was going to be a fun, mediocre film starring Jack Black.  What I got was something much more.  I got a refreshing light-hearted comedy almost completely free of Jack Black’s (what I like to call) “Touch of Suck”.  There was no scatting, the jokes weren’t so over the top that I felt like shooting myself instead of laughing AND most importantly I didn’t have to see Jack Black’s stupid facial expressions.  That is, it felt like Jack walked in, was handed a script and unless he read what was there the take was cut.

4. Wallace and Gromit in the Curse of the Were-Rabbit


Ever since I was little I have always been a fan of Wallace and Gromit and this movie did not stray far at all from their usual sort of comedy which I think is a perfect mixture of British and American humour (even though I don’t think Americans had anything to do with this apart from distribution) so that it appeals to everyone and is also not so smart that it’s a children’s movie in which children won’t get the jokes.

3. Shrek


From the first 15 minutes of this movie when Shrek is being bothered by ALL the fairy tale characters I loved this movie.  When I watched this I just couldn’t stop laughing all the way through.  However the moment in this movie that pushed it up to number three was an unlikely scene in a children’s movie, a torture scene.  Even though this torture scene was the same as most in the R-rated movies, the only difference was the tool – MILK; and that just brought me to tears laughing.

2. How to Train Your Dragon


This is a great movie.  This is the first mainstream animated movie released by a non-Pixar company that I thought was actually a contender for Best Animated Feature last year.  Now if that statement is true, the questions you should be asking yourselves is not “Why is this at number 2?” but “Why is this not at number 1?”

And the answer is………..

 

1. Shrek 2


This movie is by far one of the best sequels I have ever seen in my entire life.  Everything about this movie was amazing.  The voice acting, the story, the script, the comedy, the cameos, especially the little surprise at the end of the credits (I remember it being at the end of the credits or it might just be a DVD extra; I don’t remember.).  Overall, this is what I think is THE BEST DreamWorks Animated film.

Honourable Mentions: Madagascar, Megamind

~ by sputnikreviews on May 27, 2011.

4 Responses to “Top Five DreamWorks Animations Films”

  1. No 2 favorite: Shreck 2, by far
    No 1: The Prince of Egypt. Probably forgot that even existed, didn’t you?

    • The Prince of Egypt was NOT produced by DreamWorks Animation as it was released (1998) before that division of DreamWorks was created (2001) and was therefore produced by DreamWorks SKG. So, even though I completely agree with you in that it should be on this list, it technically is not eligible as this list is only for films produced by DreamWorks Animation

  2. Interesting list. Glad to see How To Train Your Dragon and I agree Shrek 2 was a great sequel to Shrek. I think Chicken Run was great also, back in the days when Pixar wasn’t so dominant of the US animation market.

  3. I agree with ALMOST everything on this. I say “almost” because I believe Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron deserves to be somewhere on this list. It was a great film. It had an extrodinary soundtrack, beautiful and artfully mastered animation, and wonderful voice acting. Granted, it didn’t make the most money, but it still deserves to be, at least, mentioned. But, it is your list and I respect your opinion. Spirit will always be on my Top Five Dreamworks Animation Films.

Leave a Reply

 
