“Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2”: A Great End to an Amazing Era

by Nicholas Robinson

The final chapter begins as Harry (Daniel Radcliffe), Ron (Rupert Grint), and Hermione (Emma Watson) continue their quest of finding and destroying the Dark Lord’s three remaining Horcruxes, the magical items responsible for his immortality. But as the mystical Deathly Hallows are uncovered, and Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) finds out about their mission, the biggest battle begins and life as they know it will never be the same again. – IMDB.com

Hey guys, sorry about the lack of posts recently but I have been quite busy but now my time has been freed up quite a bit and this is to be the first of (hopefully) many new posts.  Now, I am one of the biggest Harry Potter fans that I know and it might seem unfair to the movie for me to be reviewing this but I shall try my best to not ramble on for too long.  This movie I think was an ALMOST perfect ending to almost 15 years (I’m counting the books) of an amazing phenomenon that has been Harry Potter.  Now instead of doing what I usually do (talk about story and what not) I am going to quash some negativity that I have been hearing from some people.

Firstly, I have been hearing comments about the pacing of this movie and that it was pretty bad.  Well, my response to that is that people have to remember that it is HALF of a movie.  Even though the first one could POSSIBLY stand on its own, this one cannot really as it is (once again) HALF of the movie.  The correct way to judge this pacing is by watching the movies back-to-back or even better wait until Yates cuts the two movies together into one big movie and watch that.

Secondly, people complain that everything flew by without any emotion, care or concern.  My response to this is that the first half of the movie does not have much emotion except for the scene involving Severus Snape (Alan Rickman) being confronted directly by Harry Potter.  This lack of emotion is not due to bad film-making but the fact that there was basically none in the book for that section.  The rest of the movie basically took place on a battlefield and on a battlefield (a real one anyway) there isn’t much time for emotion, care or concern because on a battlefield if you lose concentration, you’re dead.  However, those scenes that did not take place on the battlefield (i.e. Snape and Voldemort, Harry in the Forbidden Forest and forwards) had emotion leaking through their pores.  They were brilliantly done and actually brought tears to my eyes.

Finally, people have said that they skirted over some very important deaths in the movie.  I slightly agree with this statement and wish that they could have spent a bit more time on them (if I say who then the movie is spoiled) but what I got was an epic finale that deserves every bit of praise we can find.  The ONLY complaint that I truly agree with is the problem with the ending scene.  It could have been more emotional and longer and spent a bit more time with the people involved but it is hard to translate that chapter from book to screen so I’ll give David Yates a bit of leeway with it.

Overall, this was an AMAZING finale to an AMAZING phenomenon that started with an idea falling into the head of a brilliant writer on a crowded train to London.  Thank you J.K. Rowling.

IMDB says 8.6/10

RT says 97%

I say 9.5/10

~ by sputnikreviews on July 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
