This Day in Film: September 15 – September 18

by Nicholas Robinson

Once again I seem to have fallen behind in my posting, but not to worry.  Here are the latest days in film for your enjoyment.

September 15: In 1890, one of the most famous mystery writers was born in the United Kingdom.  She wrote many series of novels in her lifetime and most of them have been adapted for the big or small screen.  She created characters such as Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple.  I mention, the one, the only, Agatha Christie.


September 16: On this day in 1927, a man who would entertain generations with his acting was born in New York City.  He has been in many movies and TV shows including: The Princess Bride (one of my absolute favourites), The In-Laws (the original) and It’s a Mad Mad Mad Mad World.  “Oh and one more thing…” he has played a famous detective on (what I think) is one of the longest running programmes in TV history, Frank Columbo.  I introduce a man no other than Peter Falk.

September 17: Now, today’s feature might not have starred in very many amazing or even great movies, but his importance to film is much simpler than that.  For the past 40 years he has put smiles on the faces of millions of people through his works such as Gramps, Stay Tuned, The Waltons, Three’s Company and (most recently) 8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter.  On this day in 1948, the late John Ritter was born.


September 18: As I have said before, my favourite part of watching a movie is the score.  I find this the most important thing because a movie with a great script, amazing acting and great visuals and directing will turn me off completely if the score isn’t right and a horrible movie with a great score will have me listening to it over and over again.  I say this to introduce a man born this day in 1963 who has delivered some amazing scores including: The Bourne Trilogy, Face/Off, Jumper and How to Train Your Dragon.  Ladies and gentlemen, I give you John Powell.

~ by sputnikreviews on September 18, 2011.

One Response to “This Day in Film: September 15 – September 18”

  1. I’m a fan of both Christie and Falk.

Leave a Reply

 
