“Real Steel” is the People’s Champion

by Nicholas Robinson

In the near future, robots have taken over for humans in the boxing ring. A former boxer and small-time promoter (Hugh Jackman) struggles to make a living with patched-up robots in shady venues. When he discovers he has an 11-year-old son (Dakota Goyo) who believes that a robot found in the junk heap has what it takes to win, he finds himself with a shot at the big time. – IMDB.com

 Hey guys, this is my first post in a long time and I am coupling with it the announcement of the indefinite postponement of all columns.  Honestly between schoolwork and more schoolwork (ye it’s that much) I literally cannot manage the consistency that those require (as you may have noticed).  However, I am still going to keep the site alive with weekly reviews of the movies I see and hopefully I can bring back some columns in the future.  So, I saw Real Steel this week at the theatre and it honestly surprised me.

When I saw the trailer for this movie, I expected a generic sports story of the underdog coming back to win the championship (except with robots) with the cheesy romance/relationship side story.  What I got was an honest father/son relationship story told through a “generic” sports story that wasn’t even about the robots, but about Charlie Kenton (Hugh Jackman).  I mean you don’t even meet Atom (who is the underdog robot in the story) until about 40 minutes into the movie after Hugh Jackman has already destroyed two robots.  So I love how this story just did a quick curveball there.  It was still cheesy but it worked.

The two main actors in this movie did an amazing job.  Hugh Jackman has always been a versatile actor, showing that he can do action, drama, comedy and romance throughout his career.  Now, he kind of combines all of those genres into this one performance that I thoroughly enjoyed.  The REAL surprise from this movie however, came from a little child by the name of Dakota Goyo who I never really noticed in two of his previous films but probably because I was focused more on the main aspects of those films.  However, his brilliant performance in this movie is making me want to re-watch those movies just to see if I missed out on something great in those movies.  Anthony Mackie and Kevin Durand also did a great job in their supporting roles.  Anthony Mackie got fun with his role especially in the beginning of the movie but Kevin Durand just got plain “ridonkulous!” with his extreme accent and demeanour and I loved every moment they were on screen.

The visuals in this movie were pretty amazing.  Even though the robots were not the centre of focus in this movie, whenever they were on screen it really felt as if they were there, which I guess they were as it was a combination of CGI and animatronics but there was never a point in the movie where I went, “That is OBVIOUSLY CGI” or something like that.  I felt as if I was watching a newsreel of boxing matches that ACTUALLY featured robots, instead of a fictional movie.  That is a great achievement.

Even though this movie was put down by quite a bit of critics, I think that this is a very enjoyable movie that the general audiences will love.

IMDB says 7.5/10

RT says 61%

I say 8/10

~ by sputnikreviews on October 16, 2011.

2 Responses to ““Real Steel” is the People’s Champion”

  1. Real Steel is a blast, an unabashed crowd-pleaser that mixes Rocky, Transformers, video games and father-son bonding to great, if corny, effect. Still didn’t need to be 127 minutes though. Nice review.

  2. I was a bit hard on this movie too but I can see why others would like it more than me. I like the gadgets and seeing this more subtle version of the future, as opposed to other sci-fis who would overdo their versions of the world might look in ten or so years.

Leave a Reply

 
