“Tabloid” is an Apt Description

by Nicholas Robinson

A documentary on a former Miss Wyoming who is charged with abducting and imprisoning a young Mormon Missionary. – IMDB.com

Continuing with my documentary selections, I watched Errol Morris’ latest movie Tabloid.  Now, from I saw this trailer I wanted to watch this movie.  If anything, I wanted to at least see how this story turned out, which side was telling the truth that kind of thing.  Unfortunately this movie disappointed me completely.

The way the story was told was done quite nicely I must say with the little 1970’s TV showing all the footage that wasn’t interviews done for the movie.  However, the movie showed us nothing other than she said this happened and he said this happened and there is absolutely NO way to prove either story.  The thing is that other than Joyce McKinney, there was no one else there who even remotely supported her version of the story which led me to believe that the director was biased and that is the worst kind of documentarian, someone who already knows what the answer is before looking it up.

Another thing I really didn’t like about this movie was that after an hour of doing the “Manacled Mormon” story, they spent a good twenty minutes talking about Joyce and her dogs which had absolutely NO relevance to the story, her character other than to possibly question her “morality” when she cloned her dead dog for which I see absolutely no question but let’s not get into that discussion.

However, I do have to say despite all of its shortcomings, the movie is edited together very well allowing for good flow between modern day and the 1970s and the music was very well done.  That much I enjoyed.

Honestly, I have nothing more to say than don’t watch this movie.

IMDB says 7.4/10

RT says 91%

I say 3/10

~ by sputnikreviews on December 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
